HE SAYS:

I previously shared some of the problems we had in building USFSB’s computer system in my posting entitled “The Folly Of Technology” and even though we eventually completed building our current, custom computer system the story of building our web site is never ending.

I don’t know about you, but I have a list of improvements and repairs that I want to make to my home and every time I manage to take something off my list several new items are added to the list.   I have owned my current home for 24 years and I have never had an empty list.

USFSB’s web site is much like my home, the list of improvements and repairs never seem to end.   USFSB’s web site is very sophisticated and comprehensive with many interactive features and provides a vast amount of information for our visitors and Members.   This, of course, is a good thing, but, it also means that there is required a constant effort to maintain the web site and keep it operating properly.   There is also the need to keep the web site current which can be a very daunting and time consuming process since much of the information on our web site, such as is contained in the Insurance Clearinghouse and Vendor Sections, is in need of frequent updating.

Then there are the words that our technology director never likes to hear.  “Pat, would it be possible to add this feature to the web site?”  To his credit, he never says never to my requests.  Sometimes, I will get a maybe, let me look into it and most times he will find a way to get it done and we are off and running with another web site project.   The things that I come up with by way of improvements to our web site certainly provides job security for Pat since I have an active imagination and I am constantly seeking ways to make our web site better.

As we all know, just because you build a great web site it does not mean that people will use your web site.   There is always the challenge of promoting your web site through search engines and other methods that increase the profile of your web site over the vast array of web sites found on the Internet.  Randomly finding any one web site would be harder than finding the proverbial needle in a hay stack.  Again, I have asked Pat to do some research and try to find a solution to this problem.  I believe he is on the verge of finding a way of making ours the most famous web site on the Internet.  Well, probably not, otherwise, I would have to give him an extremely big raise.

WHAT DO YOU SAY?