SHE SAYS:

When I looked up the definitions of a Type A personality, I found these two: “A behavior pattern characterized by tenseness, impatience and aggressiveness, often resulting in stress related symptoms.”  “A temperament marked by excessive competitiveness and ambition, an obsession with accomplishing tasks quickly, little time for self-reflection and a strong need to control situations.”

Type B personality definitions state: “A form of behavior associated with people who appear free of hostility and aggression, and who lacks a compulsion to meet deadlines, and are not highly competitive at work or play.”  “A behavior pattern categorized by a relaxed manner, patience and friendliness.” 

There are volumes of research on each type and how they interact, but this is about Joe and I and how we operate USFSB and manage to live together.

I am a very patient person.  I am accepting and almost always find the good in people whether it is people I know or strangers.  I seemingly fit into most of the Type B personality, but not all of the characteristics.

Joe is generally not a patient person.   He tends to be more critical than I am and less likely to forgive mistakes.  He is definitely a Type A personality.

As has been mentioned, Joe and I have very different styles in the way we operate USFSB and in the way we view life in general, yet, even though we possess many opposite traits, in many ways that may be why we have been able to work so well together.   Our management styles, organizational skills and our personalities are very different from each other.  I think that our differences complement each other and have helped us to be able to work together as a team for the past 32 years in our personal and family life as well as in our business for the past 13 years since I came to work at USFSB.

It is challenging to live with someone who is far more impatient than I am.  There are sometimes the discussions in the middle of the night, the endless lists of things-to-do, and repetitive questions, just to name a few of the things Joe and his impatience bring to the table.

Joe will not usually admit it, but I can be the voice of reason when he gets too wound up and I tend to put the brakes on when he rushes to judgment in order to solve every problem the instant one arises.   I believe that our differences help make us a good team and I wouldn’t trade that for anything.

WHAT DO YOU SAY?