We recently reached the first anniversary of starting our blog.  We have written a combined post to share our thoughts and reflections on our first year of blogging.

HE SAYS:

It has been a little over one year since Annemarie and I started writing our blogs for USFSB’s website and, as with everything in life, it has evolved from what we originally imagined.

Annemarie and I always realized that even among small businesses it was somewhat unusual for a husband and wife to work together.  It wasn’t until my son, Joseph, asked me to help him with a paper he was writing about family businesses for his college entrepreneurship class that I focused in on the specific issues of family owned businesses that were operated by a husband and wife team.  It was through this experience that I acquired a better understanding of just how unique it was for a husband and wife to work together and how such arrangements were froth with both pitfalls and benefits.

A little over one year ago, Annemarie and I began discussing the possibility of writing about our experiences operating USFSB together in the form of a blog to be part of our business website.  I thought it would be a good idea to share these experiences with our members since I felt that whether or not they were husband and wife teams they still could relate to our situation.

Annemarie also thought it was a good idea, but was concerned that we would soon run out of things to write about after we covered the details of how and why we operate USFSB together.  At first, I disagreed with her but she proved to be right.  Before publishing the blog on the website, we wrote a detailed narrative of the circumstances that brought each of us to USFSB and our different points of view regarding running a business; however, it quickly became apparent that going forward the actual day-to-day activities of operating USFSB would be of little interest to anyone. 

Over the past year, I have written about business, legal, and financial topics, but, as Annemarie puts it, this was never meant to be a how-to-run a business blog or a business advice blog.  In addition to those practical topics, Annemarie encouraged me to also express my opinions of which I have many as well as write about my personal experiences and observations on life and that’s how the “He Says, She Says” blog took on its current persona.

When I write any of my blogs, I always run it by Annemarie for her review and ask her if she thinks it is “blog worthy”.   Annemarie has become my sounding board and, at times, my unofficial censor when she thinks I have gone too far or my effort was simply not good enough.   As it turns out, even though I write most of the blogs, Annemarie and I, as we do when operating USFSB, work well together as a team when it comes to our writing efforts.

SHE SAYS:

We have just passed the one year mark of the USFSB “He Says, She Says” Blog.  As I reflect over the past year, I would like to share what I have learned.

Blogging can be fun and is a good way to express one’s self.  I have learned that even though I do not particularly enjoy writing, I love to read every word that Joe has written.  He has not only written most of the blogs in this past year, but he probably has enough blogs written to get us through to next year.  I don’t think he knew that he was going to write so much and enjoy it so much.

I can almost tell when Joe is about to write one of his blogs.  Sometimes, I can sense when a situation is presented that will inspire Joe to start writing.  Some blogs just pour out of him and have been completed in five or ten minutes.  There have been times when I find him awake in the middle of the night on his computer because an idea just came to him.  On more than one occasion on a train, plane and even a cruise ship, he would ask me if I have a piece of paper and a pen because he wanted to jot down some thoughts.  Inevitably, those thoughts would become a full-fledged blog.   Joe always asks me if his efforts are ‘blog-worthy’.  In the office, there are times he will also send several drafts in a row to a few of us for comment before he finalizes them.  It is amazing how he has become such a prolific writer.

However, I already knew that Joe was a good writer.  What I have really learned about the USFSB blog is that “He” has a lot to say and “She” doesn’t.

I love to read every day.  I am always looking for a good book to read and I have a long list lined up of what is next.  I admire a really good author and the way some can turn a phrase.  I wish I could write the way some authors do, but I never seem to articulate my ideas the way I would like.  I will continue to write the “She Says” blog on occasion, but I know I will never be as prolific as “He”.

Even though Joe has proven to be the more expressive writer between the two of us, it’s still a team effort.

WHAT DO YOU SAY?

There will be no blog post on Monday due to the 4th of July holiday. We will return to our normal format on Wednesday, July 6th. Enjoy the holiday weekend!