HE SAYS:

Before you call the police, I do not mean high on drugs or alcohol nor do I even mean high on life although that would be a good thing.

Whenever I travel to a new city one of the things that I will do is find the highest vantage point in or overlooking that city whether it is a building, tower, or natural formation as long as it is accessible.  The irony is that I am somewhat afraid of heights, yet, my desire to see the big picture as it were by getting a bird’s eye view of the city is so overwhelming that I will force myself to reach the top of the highest point I can find.

Florence from Piazzale Michelangelo

Florence from Piazzale Michelangelo

I will climb as many stairs as necessary no matter how steep, winding, or rickety.   I have walked on narrow ledges high above the ground with only the semblance of a safety railing if that is what it takes to get to the top.  Once there, I will linger to enjoy what for me are always breathtaking views and, of course, take as many pictures as I feel necessary to capture the panoramic beauty of that city.  Even when a helicopter ride is an option it does not work for me.  It is too noisy, the views are obstructed, and it is very difficult to take quality pictures.   I want a more serene experience.

I also have accumulated a large number of professional aerial and skyline photographs of as many of the cities I have visited as I could find in local poster shops or online.   These photographs, many poster size, now occupy all of the wall space of our finished basement and have become my unofficial travel gallery.

Bergamo from the Campanone (civic tower) in Piazza Vecchia

Bergamo from the Campanone (civic tower) in Piazza Vecchia

I don’t know how this started or why I pursue it with such a passion and I choose not to speculate or search for reasons.  It is just something that intrigues me and that I like to do.

If you were thinking that this was some elaborate build up to a profound observation about life, sorry, this is one of those things that is just what it seems and nothing more.

Verona from La Torre dei Lamberti (Lamberti Tower) in Piazza Erbe

Verona from La Torre dei Lamberti (Lamberti Tower) in Piazza Erbe

Venice from the bell tower at the Basilica San Giorgio Maggiore on the Isola San Giorgio Maggiore

Venice from the bell tower at the Basilica San Giorgio Maggiore on the Isola San Giorgio Maggiore

Venice from the Campanile (bell tower) in Piazza San Marco

Venice from the Campanile (bell tower) in Piazza San Marco

WHAT DO YOU SAY?