This is the second part of a five part series.  Click here to read the first part, All’s Well That Ends Well, The Prelude.

SHE SAYS:

Then, the process began.  After meeting with several builders over the course of the next year, we settled on a builder (who we will call “Jason”).  Jason was 27 years old and had been in business for only a few years but we liked his ideas and his enthusiasm.  He showed us several houses he had completed and we were impressed with their design and construction.  Jason also recommended an architect who we hired by June 2007.  By the Spring of 2008 we had our contract with Jason in place and had secured all of our approvals for our architectural plans from the County and the Home Owners Association.

On April 30, 2008, we broke ground on our dream house which Jason said would take 10 months to complete.  How naïve we were.

Prior to the contract being finalized, we also met with a house designer/interior decorator.  We spent the greater part of a week in November of 2007 going from one store to another and with her help we selected every design component for the house from roof tiles, stucco and trim colors to light fixtures, plumbing fixtures, and windows and right down to such details as interior doors and door knobs.  In some cases, by the time we got to the ordering of these items, the pricing had increased or the items were discontinued or were just never delivered causing us to make alternate choices.

On April 30, 2008, I was excited and eager to begin our 10 month project.  I had organized a large notebook that included the contract, the plans, and a section of empty pages for notes.  I just assumed I would use this book as my guide through the process and to keep me organized.  After all, building a house seemed like a relatively simple process that has been done over and over.  I assumed that all builders followed the same order and I put my faith in Jason that the process would be followed in the correct manner.

We assumed that we would be able to visit the construction site from time to time to enjoy the warm weather as we marveled at the progress being made to our new home.   As things became more and more complicated, we realized that this was not going to be a pleasant experience for us and that we would need to become much more involved than we had ever imagined.

After just a few months of construction, I had to abandon my book because it grew so large and ultimately I accumulated volumes of notes, emails, notices and other pertinent documents that take up an entire file cabinet.  As the problems mounted, I found that I had to create a paper trail on every issue and keep my documents very organized in order to stay one step ahead of Jason and the subcontractors.  
 
Things go down hill in the next installment called “All’s Well That Ends Well, The Problem”.

WHAT DO YOU SAY?