HE SAYS:

As I have mentioned, my brother was single and had no children. He led a very active life, pursued his interest in politics on a national level, enjoyed his social activities as a bachelor, and was very generous to his family and friends.

As the owner of USFSB, he reached a level of income that provided him with all of the resources he needed to live the good life. I believe that once the business was able to meet his financial needs he did not have the incentive to work any harder on growing the business. Since he did not have a wife and children to worry about the business was there primarily to sustain his single life style.

His priorities were based on the fact that he only had himself to take care of and satisfy. He mostly lived for today and did not worry too much about the future. Since he was not responsible for anyone else, this could not be construed as being selfish or wasteful. His priorities were evidenced by the fact that upon his death he had a surprisingly small amount of money saved or accumulated assets.

I, on the other hand, was married and had four young children. My priorities were vastly different than those of my brother. When you bring children into this world, your focus is completely fixed on providing for their well-being and financial security. In many ways, everything you do is based on their needs and your desire to be a good parent.

In my law practice and, certainly, in my desire to grow USFSB, I was motivated more by the need to take care of my children then just to provide a good life for Annemarie and me. To be sure, we wanted to have enough money to live well, but, our children were our top priority. I not only wanted to provide my children with a great childhood, I also wanted to build something for their future.

My brother and I would often compare the differences between his life style and mine. My brother spent his money on expensive sports cars, pleasure boats, and all the other trappings of a fun loving bachelor while I spent my money on day care, braces, clothing for the children, and saving for their college educations. It all comes down to a matter of priorities.

WHAT DO YOU SAY?