HE SAYS:

My father, for most of his working life, was self-employed and operated a scrap metal recycling business.   My father was raised by immigrant parents during the Great Depression and never received much in the way of a formal education having gone only as far as the eighth grade; however, he has plenty of common sense and street smarts.  

As a small business owner, he was tenacious, worked hard and always found a way to make a living and provide for his family.   As a child, I could usually tell how his business was going by what my mother made for dinner.   If we were having a lot of pasta things were not going so well and if steak showed up on the menu things were looking up.  

I can’t tell you when I first decided that I would rather work for myself then for someone else.   However, growing up, I certainly was aware of the fact that my father was self-employed and I am sure this made an impression on me.   In fact, I worked with my father several summers during high school and saw firsthand what it was like being your own boss.

After my first year of law school, I took some time off and worked at a large national company in Boston and saw what life was like as an employee.   After a year of this, I realized it was not for me and I decided to finish my law school studies.

While I was back in law school, my brother and I started our own recycling business which we operated for about two years.  We developed agreements with manufacturing and utility companies to recycle the lead from large industrial batteries and dealt with other items that no one, not even my father, wanted to handle.  We made a very good profit on this business and it helped me further understand that working for myself could produce rewarding results.

By the time I started practicing law and after working for a large firm for several years, to gain some useful experience, I knew that I would spend the rest of my career working for myself.    Early in my career, I even turned down a position as an attorney with the state government.

I was, by that time, fully prepared to give up the security of receiving a steady paycheck and benefits as someone’s employee for the chance to be my own boss, take my own risks, and earn a potentially unlimited amount of income.

I enjoy the freedom of being my own boss and running my business the way that I see fit.   In addition to the freedom, I like the idea that whether I succeed or fail, it is all based on my efforts and not from the actions or failures of someone else.                

I feel that I am in control of my own destiny.

WHAT DO YOU SAY?