HE SAYS:

Like many people, I have always given what I can to a select group of charities that have a special meaning for me; however, I never have been one for causes.  I never felt comfortable with such large issues as saving the whales or the plight of laboratory animals, for example.  Even human disasters such as in Haiti, New Orleans, or Indonesia leave me conflicted with the enormity of the problem and my limited ability to provide any meaningful help.

When the problem is closer to home and involves family, friends, or even acquaintances, I can be more easily motivated to help.   I guess it is the immediacy of the problem and a clearly defined way to provide some help that makes it possible for me to believe that I can make a difference.  I take the notion that charity begins at home literally.

As Annemarie and I started to achieve a level of success with USFSB, we felt that the circumstances under which USFSB came into our lives required that we use that success for some good.   Certainly, we wanted to make sure our children were well taken care of, but, we wanted to do more than that with the resources of USFSB.  

We believed that the tragedy of my brother’s illness and death had to have some meaning.  Perhaps, we became part of USFSB for some purpose beyond just operating a business.   In some sense, we felt that we could mitigate the pain of the loss of my brother by treating USFSB as a gift to be shared with others.

Privacy prevents me from describing the many ways in which Annemarie and I provided help to various people in our lives.  Suffice it to say that I believe that my brother would be proud of how we have honored his legacy as the founder and creative force behind USFSB.

WHAT DO YOU SAY?