HE SAYS:

I was somewhat taken aback when Annemarie exhibited some reluctance to leave her career to come to USFSB.  At the time, all I could see was that USFSB provided a great opportunity for financial security to our family and I could not imagine that anything would be more important.

In hindsight, I can understand that this was a lot for her to take in all at once and it would be a difficult decision for her to make a career change and come to a business she still did not know very well.   After all, I came to USFSB out of necessity in order to help my brother and it only gradually became a career changing opportunity for me.

After much discussion, possibly, heated, at times, Annemarie agreed to come to work at USFSB.   Even then, by way of compromise, she first came to USFSB on a part time basis and was able to also maintain her public employment part time.   This proved to be unsatisfactory, at least, for me and we worked out a further compromise where she would take a leave of absence from her employment while she worked, full time, at USFSB.   I guess you could say that Annemarie did not want to burn her bridges behind her in case working with me at USFSB proved to be a bad idea.

As soon as she started, I could see that it was going to be a difficult transition for Annemarie.   Working and interacting in a small business is vastly different than working in a very large office with its layers of bureaucracy, compartmentalized duties and responsibilities, and many more social opportunities.

When you are operating a small business, you become responsible for everything, you are in charge and no longer just part of a team which means that you need to lead rather than follow.    Even though challenging, it can also be unnerving and uncomfortable if you are not used to the idea of working without the safety net of being just a small part of a large office.   It is a little scary when yours is the only vision for the future.

Come back on Friday to hear Annemarie’s side of the story!

WHAT DO YOU SAY?